Die, Workwear! https://dieworkwear.com A blog about menswear Sat, 28 Nov 2020 19:51:59 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.5.3 https://secureservercdn.net/166.62.107.20/oxs.335.myftpupload.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/cropped-icon-1-32x32.png Die, Workwear! https://dieworkwear.com 32 32 Black Friday: The Cozy Edit https://dieworkwear.com/2020/11/28/black-friday-the-cozy-edit/ Sat, 28 Nov 2020 03:23:54 +0000 https://dieworkwear.com/?p=4340 There’s a wonderful photo of a grey-haired Ralph Lauren sitting at home, lounging in his leather armchair while looking pensively out the window. He’s wearing coral orange trousers, likely made from corduroy, a pair of black velvet Prince Albert slippers, and a green cable-knit layered over a white dress shirt. Lauren, who’s a master orchestrator [...]

Read More...

The post Black Friday: The Cozy Edit appeared first on Die, Workwear!.

]]>
Mr. Porter Starts Black Friday Sale https://dieworkwear.com/2020/11/25/mr-porter-starts-black-friday-sale-2/ Wed, 25 Nov 2020 08:20:44 +0000 https://dieworkwear.com/?p=4231 Mr. Porter’s massive selection puts them in everyone’s orbit. Whether you favor classic tailored clothing, Japanese workwear, or oversized, minimalist contemporary garb, Mr. Porter likely carries more than a handful of brands for you.  Today, Mr. Porter started their Black Friday promotion, where you can take up to 30% off select items. Inis Meain’s sweaters are expensive, [...]

Read More...

The post Mr. Porter Starts Black Friday Sale appeared first on Die, Workwear!.

]]>
Seven Amazing Black Friday Sales https://dieworkwear.com/2020/11/24/seven-amazing-black-friday-sales/ Tue, 24 Nov 2020 23:10:52 +0000 https://dieworkwear.com/?p=4191 It’s that time of year again. Black Friday is technically supposed to start on Friday, but many retailers have gotten a jump on their promotions. This Friday, I’ll be rounding up some of my favorite sales both here and at Put This On. But for some early Black Friday shopping, here are seven stellar deals.  [...]

Read More...

The post Seven Amazing Black Friday Sales appeared first on Die, Workwear!.

]]>
Streetwear From Above https://dieworkwear.com/2020/11/21/streetwear-from-above/ Sat, 21 Nov 2020 01:34:53 +0000 https://dieworkwear.com/?p=2812 In 1994, advertising executive Donald Rifkin came up with a new installment for Coca-Cola’s “Obey Your Thirst” campaign, designed to promote the company’s sparkling lemon-lime beverage Sprite. In the commercial, a young white teen with an unfortunate center-part haircut wrestles with one of life’s eternal questions: “what is cool?” As he stands at a city [...]

Read More...

The post Streetwear From Above appeared first on Die, Workwear!.

]]>
How to Choose Better Shoes https://dieworkwear.com/2020/11/12/how-to-choose-better-shoes/ Thu, 12 Nov 2020 19:39:31 +0000 https://dieworkwear.com/?p=3070 In the last ten years, the internet has exploded with innumerable sources for high-end shoes. What used to be a small market of Goodyear welted footwear has become an electronic bazaar with virtual stalls from around the world. In the past, if you wanted a pair of good shoes, you had your pick of two [...]

Read More...

The post How to Choose Better Shoes appeared first on Die, Workwear!.

]]>
Things I’m Excited to Wear This Fall https://dieworkwear.com/2020/10/31/things-im-excited-to-wear-this-fall/ Sat, 31 Oct 2020 00:30:20 +0000 https://dieworkwear.com/?p=2841 A few months after the world shut down this past spring, Cathy Horyn of The Cut interviewed Raf Simons about what he thought of fashion’s possible future. Simons, who’s known in fashion circles for introducing a generation of men to the skinny black suit, was sitting in his apartment in Antwerp at the time while wearing elasticated [...]

Read More...

The post Things I’m Excited to Wear This Fall appeared first on Die, Workwear!.

]]>
5 Other New Brands I’m Watching https://dieworkwear.com/2020/10/14/5-other-new-brands-im-watching/ Wed, 14 Oct 2020 23:47:41 +0000 https://dieworkwear.com/?p=2643 Fashion is often criticized for its creative destruction. Trends are constantly coming and going; new brands are always emerging. What some see as a pointless field, I see as a subject where there’s always something new, something interesting, and something different to talk about. For the past few years, I’ve been doing annual roundups about new [...]

Read More...

The post 5 Other New Brands I’m Watching appeared first on Die, Workwear!.

]]>
5 New Brands I’m Watching https://dieworkwear.com/2020/10/05/5-new-brands-im-watching/ Mon, 05 Oct 2020 19:12:45 +0000 https://dieworkwear.com/?p=2586 In an interview with The Telegraph, Patrick Grant of Norton & Sons once described fashion as being an “ever-moving feast.” I find that the quick-paced nature of fashion — where things are constantly being created and destroyed — makes the field endlessly interesting. There’s always something new, something different, something to talk about. For the past [...]

Read More...

The post 5 New Brands I’m Watching appeared first on Die, Workwear!.

]]>
Where To Shop For a Suit https://dieworkwear.com/2020/09/25/where-to-shop-for-a-suit/ Fri, 25 Sep 2020 01:44:05 +0000 https://dieworkwear.com/?p=2503 In the last few months, the fashion press has been abuzz about whether the coronavirus pandemic will sound the death knell for the suit. Over on Savile Row, bespoke tailoring houses are getting crushed by soaring rents and the lack of overseas orders. In the United States, three of the largest companies to declare bankruptcy [...]

Read More...

The post Where To Shop For a Suit appeared first on Die, Workwear!.

]]>
The Potential for Slow Fashion https://dieworkwear.com/2020/09/11/the-potential-for-slow-fashion/ Fri, 11 Sep 2020 01:28:59 +0000 https://dieworkwear.com/?p=2428 Three years ago, I was in an elevator in a San Francisco hotel with Agyesh Madan, co-founder of Stoffa, after he finished a trunk show. We were on our way to get lunch at a cafe across the street. Madan, who’s always immaculately dressed, was wearing a grey suede double rider with a pair of cream-colored [...]

Read More...

The post The Potential for Slow Fashion appeared first on Die, Workwear!.

]]>